Korean Pop and Dramas · Music and Pop Culture

Farewell to the Queens of Summer

It’s been well over a week (almost two even) since the dreaded announcement and they’ve also dropped the song and music video of the century so… bear with me.

Let me just start by saying that this might get cheesy at some point. I’m not gonna lie and fool you. Tell you I’m going to composed and logical throughout this post, because to me, Sistar wasn’t just any girl group. No. To me, they were THE girl group. They were the ones that mattered the most.

And here’s why.

I made a brief Instagram post about this when the disbanding announcement was still fresh. So, I might be repeating myself. But I don’t really care at this point.

Sistar was the first K-pop girl group I stumbled upon back in 2013. I had just started following EXO and their activities when I was looking for a girl group I can get on board with. They were the first… and the ONLY girl group that I totally fell head over heels for (I liked many others as well but I never invested as much). I remember watching Loving U and thinking that they looked so different from other girl groups I’ve seen, visual and figure wise. Naturally, I watched their other music videos and dug myself into a deep hole I didn’t want to get out of.

It was only supposed to go as far as that. Bopping to their music and enjoying their performances. But nah. I had to watch them in interviews and variety shows. Now, at this point, if I hadn’t been deep enough into the Star1 hole already, I may or may not have reached the very core of it.

They were so…blunt and genuine. I’d never seen that with other girl groups, or female celebrities for that matter. This is how I KNEW that I’d never love any other girl group the same. Even if I encounter another one that captures my heart instantly somewhere down the road (*cough* Blackpink *cough*), I knew that it just wasn’t going to be the same.

They taught me a lot of things and inspired me in many ways. With their fierce and unapologetic personalities, I gained confidence and learned to love and believe in myself. I’m still a work in progress obviously, but whenever I think of them or am reminded of them, I remember to not be too hard on myself.  They were also able to impart to fans or any other person that beauty comes in all forms, shapes, and sizes despite what society or the media dictate to you.

They showed me that there’s more to life than trying to tear other women down. That we have to stick together to fight misogyny and sexism. They always made it their duty to look out for other girl groups, especially the younger ones. With the shit that goes on in the industry they’re in, they feel that it’s only right for them to do so. And they seriously give no fucks if male celebrities or artists are intimidated by them BECAUSE of this. In fact, they’re proud that they have that kind of effect.

But above all else, Sistar is always true to who they are. Confident, funny, and honest. Which, in my humble opinion, is what any other woman or person should aim to be.

Performing hit after hit since their debut and continuing to work hard for their rightful spot on the top, it’s safe to say that summer is never going to be the same. At least, for me, it isn’t. I don’t even remember what my summers were like before I knew Sistar. I never created summer playlists until I started listening to their songs so… I guess the season’s not going to be as great with their disbandment in full swing.

The one positive thing about this entire ordeal though is the fact that it’s a mutual decision. There’s no drama, scandal, or bad blood between the members. They simply came to a point in their lives where they have to grow as individuals and not as a group anymore. And with seven years together, they managed to become family to each other just like their group name implies. In their unique ways, they’re all stars but also sisters to one another. Their disbandment is the most “ideal”, dare I say out loud. What, with all the hot ass mess other groups have gone through. I only wish that they didn’t do it so soon. But knowing that they are all still in good terms and will continue to support and keep in touch with each other is enough for me.

To whatever paths they choose to take from now, I will cheer them on. But I’d be lying if I say I won’t miss them together as a group. I wholeheartedly and sincerely thank you for everything, Sistar. And I hope you continue to stay as real and badass as you unapologetically have.

P.S. Watch their latest (and last T__T) music video for awesome music and stunning visuals.

Leave a Reply

